Long Distance Swimmers

Swimming in the lake in Hyde Park is not the only place Serpentine members swim! Long distance, open water swimming is another passion at the Serpentine, with the club boasting a plethora of relay and solo English Channel swimmers amongst its members.

The English Channel is not the only long distance swim to tackle. Serpentine members have dipped their toes in many UK and international waters. A small example of such swims include:

  • Escape from Alcatraz, San Francisco, USA
  • Golden Gate Bridge Swim, San Francisco, USA
  • Catalina Channel, Los Angeles, USA
  • Maui to Lanai Channel, Hawaii, USA
  • Robben Island Swim, Cape Town, South Africa
  • River Nene swim, Cambridgeshire, UK
  • Manhattan Island Swim, New York, USA
  • Straits of Gibraltar, Spain
  • Lake Zurich, Switzerland
  • Lake Annecy, France
  • Cook Straits, New Zealand
  • Round Jersey, Jersey
  • Round Guernsey, Guernsey
  • Lake Genava/ Lac Leman, Switzerland/ France
  • Lake Windermere, UK
  • Loch Lomond, UK
  • Loch Ness, UK
  • Ullwater, UK
  • Coniston, UK

All through the year there are members training for their first or next long distance open water swim. If long distance swimming is something that you are interested in, come down to the Serpentine (Especially on a Saturday morning from 8am onwards) to meet the huge number of members who have given it a go! We have advice, stories, tips and hints galore. Just be prepared to listen to a lot of overexcited open water swimmers telling you their experience from their swims

The members who have completed English Channel solos swims:



1957Gerald Forsberg
1961Rose George*
1968Kevin Murphy*
1969Jon Erikson*
1982Alison Streeter*
1984Robert (Bob) Manning
1993Nick Adams*
2002Anna McClarnon
2005Anna Hillyer, Sakura Hingley, Mark Rosenburg, Will Ferguson, James Scott
2007Conor Rowley, Andy Pfaff
2008Pim Kalisvaart, Alice Constance
2009Sophie Rutenbar, Boris Mavra*, Alison Lievesley, Colin Hill
2010Luke Birch, Trevor Gaunt, John Whitaker, Sam Vincent, Tullio Salvatore, Doug Wright, Guy Moar, David Orders
2011Scott Stanley, Lorcan Rowley, Angela Lurssen, Pascal Vernaeve, Michael Ventre
2012Kristy McIntyre, Deirdre Barron* (Ward), Tori Thorpe, Kevin Blick*, Mark Workman, Rob Ouldcott, Ian Stoughton
2013Mark Faure Walker, Frederick Florin, Mark Fabik, Matthew Dawson, Christopher Foyle, Jackson Carroll, Robert Fisher, Damian Wachowicz
2014Sami Robertson, James Norton, Stuart Bowman*, Dani Lobo*, Michael Cullen, Mark Johansen
2015Volker Koch, Jessica Hepburn, Rhys Bradley
2016Alana Digby, James Danaher, Sam Bail
2017Anita Goyas, Oli Withers, Toby Davis, John Tierney, Torgie Cox, Vandita Dhariyal, Suzanne Langdon, Scott Baker
2018Sam Mould, Alessandra Rossi Cima, Jon Southey*, Peter Lowe
2019Tom Rutter, Gaurvi Singhvi, Tom Knight, Alex Fordyce, Jody Jones, Charles Allman-Brown
2020Craig Kerr, Sophie Brunt
2021Claire Webster

Alan Luckhurst, Laure Latham, Drew Fobbester

* Multiple swims