Noisy acrobatic and an entertainer was our Syd, James wins trophy

James Norton wins

He was a diver, acrobat, very noisy and did cycling tricks on the boards. Not James Norton, today's 220 yard race winner, but Sydney W Stovold, for whom today's race along with his wife Gladys, the event was in honour of.

Syd and Gladys E Reeves were married in a registry office in the Summer of 1955. 

Mike Olizar, our Club Historian, reckoned that Sydney had been a club member for just five years or so, and he passed away in June 1962, at the age of 51. He was based in Fulham.

In 1938, eight members of the Highgate London diving club were a feature at the Bangor amateur swimming club's final gala. Syd Stovold was one of the eight, referred to in the 22 August 1938 edition of the Belfast Newsletter, which included GB and European representatives. Stovold was described as "a leading springboard diver." It added that "they gave a magnificent display... and also staged a diverting comedy show."

On 30 June, 1939, the Southern Counties Diving Championships were held at Purley way Pool. 'The Croydon Advertiser and East Surrey Reporter' wrote that "The southern men’s high board championship was won by the national title holder, L. G. Marchant (Highgate D.C.), with S. W. Stovold (Highgate DC.' second and D. S. Thom (London D.C.) third of six. On a cool evening the attendance was a poor one."

Syd's wife Gladys continued to visit Serps after his passing, and also to present the lovely prizes. It meant all for her to be at Serps Gladys often said. And in her will, she left the club several thousands of pounds for many future cups of tea. 

If anyone knows more, please let us know.

Tory Long (neé Thorpe) kindly presented the prizes and Robin Hunter Presided over the prize giving and speech proceedings. And thanks to Matthew Johnston for kindly stumping up for a pair of rubber shoes for Robin, as his previous pair had been strangely misplaced. 

Aftewards, tea and brekky was enjoyed by many.

In order of finishing were:  James Norton, John Craske, Rod Newing

Yours swimmingly
John Tierney



1962 J. Markham
1963 R.M. Ferris
1964 J. Markham
1965 S. Youlton
1966 J. Bayman
1967 A.R. Wood
1968 Goffrey Arthur
1969 S. Youlton
1970 R. Wakeford
1971 Goffrey Arthur
1972 Olizar Mike
1973 Kelly Sean
1974 D. Rhodes
1975 Olizar Mike
1976 L. Alt
1977 R. Sutton
1978 W. Harman
1979 Kelly Bob
1980 A. Pandya
1981 C. J. Wood
1982 Titmuss Alan
1983 C. Boyd
1984 Phipps Bill
1985 Phipps Bill
1986 Larrad Peter
1987 Phipps Bill
1988 W.J.R. Harman
1989 Olizar Mike
1990 Phipps Bill
1991 Deeley Bill
1992 Olizar Mike
1993 A. Woodward
1994 Deeley Bill
1995 M. Fraser
1996 Wood Cyril
1997 Fahy Justin
1998 Olizar Mike
1999 H. Hadavi
2000 S. Yuriko
2001 Moffat Laura
2002 Lacy Alan
2003 Marczak Marcin
2004 Titmuss Alan
2005 Leigh Edward
2006 Turner Haydn
2007 Cooper Paul
2008 McDonagh Andy
2009 Du Cane Leslie
2010 Impey Peter
2011 Bowman Stuart *
2012 Gilbert Mary
2013 Challinor Felicity
2014 Jan Farmer
2015 Eliza Kaczynska Nay
2016 Dave Murray
2017 Sakura Adams
2018  James Norton