Alan Lacy presents the Clary Reed Cup

Fiona Campbell wins trophy

Thanks to sponsor Alan Lacy for presenting the prizes for the Clary Reed cup, to winner Fiona Campbell and the other prize winners.

Alan, a former club President in 1974 - 1976 & 1998 - 2000, joined our club in 1948 and is our longest serving member.

For the millennium as President he presented medals to all members present that day.  

As for the trophy, Clary Reed joined the club in 1910.

He is one of the most important figures in the history of Serpentine Swimming Club.

He always kept things running smoothly even in the difficult times during WWI. In 1933 he became the club's handicapper and when WWII broke out, the majority of our members were called up for duty. He was then left to take on the roles of the secretary & treasurer. He was determined that the club should survive. When the war ended the old members started to return and Clary's devotion was rewarded with the realisation of his ambition in getting the club back on to sounder footings.

Clary was always cheerful and kind hearted and was an inspiration to all.

Clary passed in 1957.

[Photos: Mike Harris]


Past winners

1956 T. Bisset
1957 R.M. Ferris
1958 C. P. Bryant
1959 W. Gill
1960 S. Youlton
1961 S. Stovold
1962 Titmuss Alan
1963 J. Luhr
1964 K. Peckham
1965 J. Toth
1966 R.M. Ferris
1967 A. Creese
1968 S. Richardson
1969 A. Woodward
1970 M. Wooldbridge
1971 E. Bennion
1972 R. Wakeford
1973 Kelly Sean
1974 R. Gohar
1975 P. Cox
1976 R. Burnett
1977 Olizar Mike
1978 M. Connor
1979 Kelly Jesse
1980 Olizar Mike
1981 D. Rhodes
1982 P. Sloman
1983 Olizar Mike
1984 Kelly Jesse
1985 A. Gardiner
1988 M. Crabb
1989 W.J.R. Harman
1990 Lacy Alan
1991 Lacy Alan
1992 C. J. Wood
1993 Kelly Bob
1994 Fahy Justin
1995 Carter Eric
1996 Olizar Mike
1997 Larrad Peter
1998 Fahy Justin
1999 M. Johnston
2000 Larrad Peter
2001 Larrad Peter
2002 Nash Alan
2003 Kelly Duff
2004 Deeley Bill
2005 Hillyer Anna
2006 Reid John
2007 Macalpine Anne
2008 Fabik Mark
2009 Harling Leanne
2010 Coulton Alastair
2011 Cox Steph
2012 Cselko George
2013 Mavra Ana
2014 Koch Volker
2015  Kat Jungnickel
2016  Michael Wynn
2017  ??
2018  Fiona Campbell