Leanne Harling winner of 2017 Christmas Day handicap race for the Peter Pan trophy

Leanne Harling winner of 2017 Christmas Day handicap race for the Peter Pan trophy

Harling Magic wins 2017 Annual Christmas Day handicap for the Peter Pan trophy
Wed, 27 Dec 2017, Serpentine Hyde Park

Leanne Pans It ahead of Peter who could not squeeze past Stuart

Huge congratulations to Leanne Harling who won the 2017 Annual handicap race for the Peter Pan trophy. Leanne was certainly roared to victory by her husband Hutan, and baby Percy – in his own way. Leanne flew home first, ahead of the ever-young Stu Bowman, Peter Larrad and Emmi Hunte.

Asked afterwards how she felt in the cold waters, Leanne thought she "would never never land at the finish." 

And nearly a century after the extremely generous author Mr JM Barrie donated all his royalties from Peter Pan to Great Ormond Street Hospital, for life, we can all surely feel satisfied that the format of the race remains unadjusted. GOSH Indeed!  

The “Peter Pan” race has only been raced since the early 1900s, yet the Serpentine Swimming Club has been running a Christmas Day time-handicapped swimming race since at least 1864.

In 1929, Barrie gifted the complete rights of his Peter Pan publication to GOSH, this has been a source of significant income since then.

Peter was the name of one of Barrie’s adopted five sons, and Pan is the Greek god of nature and shepherds. The Serpentine link stemmed from the volume of time Barrie spent walking his dog Porthos in Kensington Gardens

Barrie was just five feet tall (1.5 metres), and was one of ten siblings who grew up in Scotland. And thanks to the success of the play preceding it, the Peter Pan book was a best seller. Barrie wrote over 80 novels.

For those in need of a sprinkle of memory refreshment dust, Peter Pan was a heroic character contained within Barrie's book for adults, "The Little White Bird" which was published in November 1902. That little white bird was iteratively eclipsed when the play Peter Pan was premiered at London's the Duke of York Theatre on Tuesday 27 December 1904. 

In 1911, Peter Pan and Wendy, the novel was published. 

In 1903, Barrie presented a gold medal worth five guineas (about £600 in today's money) to the race winner. Barrie continued to present the Peter Pan Cup up to 1932, after which the honour fell to long-term club member Albert Greenbury. Albert joined the club with his brothers in 1908.  He was club President from 1935 to 1955.  To this day the Greenbury family continue to present the cup. The pleasant link contuinues as Lucy Greenbury swam in the 2017 race, and Simon Greenbury kindly presented the prizes. Thanks to Lachlan for piping the swimmers onto the boards, and Santa who was present. 

Barrie passed away on 19 June 1937 (born 9 May 1860), and his copyright naturally expired in 1987. Then Prime Minister, Lord Callaghan, successfully proposed amending the Copyright Designs and Patents Act, which gave GOSH the unique royalty rights from stage performances and any other multi media adaptation of Peter Pan.
This copyright was extended to 2007 in Europe, and Spain until 2017. The UK rights are in perpetuity. In the US, copyright remains until 2023. 

Yours swimmingly

John Tierney

[photos, Ingrid & Jeremy Hunter]

[thanks to all helpers including Ros who provided a much needed cup of chair (see photo)]

List of winners of the Christmas Day handicap race over 100 yards

1864 H. Coulter
1865 S. Bullet
1866 C. Whyte
1867 J. Collard
1868 H. Ward
1869 T. Collins
1870 W. Coulter
1871 A.Bullet
1872 D. Ainsworth
1873 T. Haslop
1874 J. Clark
1875 G. Adams
1876 D. Ainsworth
1877 A. Pearson
1878 G. Tucker
1879 G. Webster
1880 J. J. Delavanti
1881 D. Ainsworth
1882 G. Tucker
1883 J. Adams
1884 W. Holiday
1885 C. W. Hackett
1886 C.Shepherd
1887 J. Jones
1888 D. Ainsworth
1889 A. Hestor
1890 E. Pike
1891 F. E. Hunt
1892 E. W. Stigger
1893 G. S. Tucker
1894 A. Perrin
1895 F. W. Thompson
1896 W. J. Grosvenor
1897 E. Hawkins
1898 E. Harrison
1899 H. Wilson
1900 W. J. Grosvenor
1901 W. Adamson
1902 E. C. Montague
1903 R. J. Lobb
1904 J. Denty
1905 C. Carnell
1906 H. H. Clears
1907 W. J. Mitchell
1908 A. Davies
1909 J. K. Vogel
1910 A. D. Johnson
1911 A. C. Fear
1912 W.J. Holley
1913 G. Gyton
1914 W. E. P. Bayly
1915 J. Gladwion
1916 C. Nimz
1917 N. Blundstone
1918 F. Denman
1919 E. A. Meech
1920 F. W. Maggs
1921 T. Bradshaw
1922 H. B. Judd
1923 A. Fry
1924 J. Heath
1925 G. Smith
1926 G. Varley
1927 E. J. Edwards
1928 F. Heath
1929 A. Greenbury
1930 A. Stonyer
1931 L. Fabian
1932 C. M. Fabian
1933 C. M. Reed
1934 C. P. Bryant
1935 L. Fabre
1936 J. Carmody
1937 J. Parkes
1938 E. Jones
1939 R. M. Ferris
1940 Levy Sidney
1941 S. Youlton
1942 W. E. Lacey
1943 T. Bisset
1944 C. Brewster
1945 F. C. Smith
1946 Goffrey Arthur
1947 G. Shepherd
1948 W. Sabey
1949 E. Nice
1950 S. Baker
1951 T. Bisset
1952 A. Smith
1953 S. Swain
1954 E. Bennion
1955 W. F. Maggs
1956 C. Bannister
1957 C. P. Bryant
1958 S. Richardson
1959 G. Green
1960 M. Vardy
1961 W. H. Evans
1962 E. Bennion
1963 Titmuss Alan
1964 Lacy Alan
1965 S. Youlton
1966 L. Ault
1967 A. Radford
1968 F. Sims
1969 Goffrey Arthur
1970 N. Smithers
1971 Larrad Peter
1972 A. Radford
1973 M. Skilton
1974 A. Woodward
1975 R. Rhodes
1976 Thomas Brian
1977 Kelly Bob
1978 Titmuss Alan
1979 Saunders Peter
1980 A. Pandya
1981 Olizar Mike
1982 Deeley Bill
1983 McClarnon Mario
1984 D. Harper
1985 A. Gardener
1986 G. Brutton
1987 M. Connor
1988 Larrad Peter
1989 Titmuss Alan
1990 Fuller Andrew
1991 Jones Norman
1992 Larrad Peter
1993 Fahy Justin
1994 Brodie Gordon
1995 Adams Nick
1996 Carter Eric
1997 Brodie Gordon
1998 Kelly Duff
1999 Titmuss Alan
2000 Wood Cyril
2001 N. Saxby
2002 Adams Nick
2003 Lacy Alan
2004 Ranson Geoff
2005 Murphy Kevin
2006 Kelly Sean
2007 Cooper Paul
2008 L. Rendon
2009 Duffield Gary
2010 Reid John
2011 Price Neil
2012 Hunte Emmi
2013 McIntyre Kristy
2014 Alan Mitchell
2015 Paddy Boyce
2016 Volker Koch
2017 Leanne Harling