Lacy's Breaststroke race: Clary Reed Cup

220yds (200m) - Handicapped

Sponsor : Alan Lacy

President 1974 - 1976 & 1998 - 2000

Alan joined our club in 1948 and is our longest serving member.

For the millennium as President he presented medals to all members present that day. His knowledge of the club is unlimited.


Clary Reed joined the club in 1910.

He is one of the most important figures in the history of Serpentine Swimming Club.

He always kept things running smoothly even in the difficult times during WWI. In 1933 he became the clubs handicapper and when WWII broke out, the majority of our members were called up for duty. He was then left to take on the roles of the secretary & treasurer. He was determined that the club should survive. When the war ended the old members started to return and Clary's devotion was rewarded with the realisation of his ambition in getting the club back on to sound footings.

Clary was always cheerful and kind hearted and was an inspiration to all.

Clary passed in 1957.

2017F. Campbell
2017S. Kelly
2016M. Wynn
2015K. Jungnickel
2014V. Koch
2013A. Mavra
2012G. Cselko
2011S. Cox
2010A. Coulton
2009L. Harling
2008M. Fabik
2007A. Macalpine
2006J. Reid
2005A. Hillyer
2004W. Deeley
2003D. Kelly
2002A. Nash
2001P. Larrad
2000P. Larrad
1999M. Johnston
1998J. Fahy
1997P. Larrad
1996M. Olizar
1995E. Carter
1994J. Fahy
1993R. Kelly
1992C. J. Wood
1991B. A. Lacy
1990B. A. Lacy
1989W. J. R Harman
1988M. Crabb
1985A. Gardener
1984J. Kelly
1983M. Olizar
1982P. Sloman
1981D. Rhodes
1980M. Olizar
1979J. Kelly
1978M. Connor
1977M. Olizar
1976R. Burnett
1975P. Cox
1974R. Gohar
1973S. Kelly
1972R. Wakeford
1971E. Bennion
1970M. Woolbridge
1969A. Woodward
1968S. Richardson
1967A. Creese
1966R. M. Ferris
1965J. Toth
1964K. Peckham
1963J. Luhr
1962A. Titmus
1961S. Stovold
1960S. Youlton
1959W. Gill
1958C. P. Bryant
1957R. M. Ferris
1956T. Bisset